fbpx

REVIEWS…

More reviews?  ⇒  Tripadvisor link  ⇐

Bec F Avatar
Bec F
5 star rating

The BEST way to experience Dali Travelling with Hendrik as a guide for a day tour to the sights of Dali and surrounds, was an incredible and once in a life time experience. I saw (and tasted!) this special part of the world, in a way I never would have been able to on my own.

I'm so glad I chose to do this tour and can not recommend Tibetmoto more highly.

12/18/2016
iXas Avatar
iXas
5 star rating

Tibet Tour - Lhasa - Mount Everest - Lake Nam Tso - Lhasa amazing motorcycle tour for any skill level. all important sights were visited, amazing mountain passes, views, great food and cultural experience.

With Tibetmoto everything is perfectly organised, all bikes are daily serviced, their is a mechanic and a jeep with the luggage following, so you do not need to worry about a heavy load on your motorcycle.

the detailed information prior and during the trip are excellent and allow you to prepare your trip and gear correctly.

Tibet and the tibetan culture is a most see on your "bucket list". riding on a motorcycle and experiencing Tibet so close up and real is "the icing".

book early as there are limited motorcycles. Best riding time late spring or early autumn

go for a life time ride with Tibetmoto

9/28/2018
Ard V Avatar
Ard V
5 star rating

Torugart pass to Shanghai On a bright Sunday morning in April 2017, my 1983 Land Rover “Edna” and I started on a trip that would take us from the Netherlands to China, crossing over 5,300 meters high mountain passes.

End July 2017 we arrived at the Torugart pass, the border between Kyrgyzstan and China. From here we drove over 9000 Km to Shanghai, thereby travelling through XinJiang province and along the Himalayas through Tibet. The China part of the ‘expedition’ was arranged with strong support from Tibetmoto, which is run by Hendrik Heyne and his team.

In short, thanks to Tibetmoto, particularly when it came to handling red-tape in China, this trip has become an unforgettable lifetime experience. Travel through China using your own vehicle without a guide is not possible. (Apparently being accompanied by a guide was already compulsory during the time of the old Silk routes!) This holds particularly true for the more ‘sensitive provinces’. Having said that, the guides that we were provided with (Thubten and Tashe) are probably the best one can get for such a journey: Very knowledgeable, supportive and in plain English just great fun to have on board. On a trip such as this, things are bound to not always go exactly as planned (…). However, also when it came to difficult questions e.g. with regard to the arrangement of visa’s and permits, Tibetmoto proved to be an indispensable partner.

I would highly recommend their organization to anyone planning an overland trip to China.

Ard Van Gerdijk

2/02/2018
HubertGrosz Avatar
HubertGrosz
5 star rating

Motorbike tour in Yunnan Last october I went to China for this beautiful and fun motorbike tour. I stumpled over Tibetmoto because of a youtube video about a tour in yunnan. I expected China, to be honest, a lot more chaotic, but it turned out to relativeley organized (just imagine the amount of people over here). Fortunately the tour I booked prevents us from traffic and many people. The North of Yunnan is just amazing. The roads up there are just fantastic. Winding and well prepared actually, which really astonished me. The panoramas from some points are just breathtaking, espacially at an about 4000m pass with a view to a snowy mountain range. The accomodations were just right and sometimes we even had western breakfast. The guide Hendrik, acutally the owner, was really kind and knowledgable about the region.

I can imagine to come back to this huge country and explore more around here on a motorbike.

1/19/2017
leeleethoms Avatar
leeleethoms
5 star rating

A Trip that I Must Take Again! Motorbiking with Tibetmoto was an adventure that I will definitely seek to have again. I knew that I had picked the right company to tour with by the warmth and kindness that I experienced from both the owner, Hendrik and Tenzin who had been patient, pleasant and informative while he answered all of my initial questions and concerns.

From the beginning of this journey, I felt like I was in good hands and that I could trust Sonam to guide us on this wonderful trip and he did. The land was absolutely stunning. The small towns were amazing and the ever-expansive rice terraces were unbelievable. I can’t imagine seeing the Yunnan province in any other way. I am so happy that I followed my first mind and rode with Tibetmoto. It’s a trip that I have to definitely take again. I can’t wait to go back! Highly recommended!

12/16/2015
Danni M Avatar
Danni M
5 star rating

Day trip in Shangri-la Booking this day trip was the best thing I could have ended up doing on my trip in Yunnan. The feeling of being in an unfamiliar place can be a little overwhelming at times, but the tour guide was professional and friendly the whole way. The temple in Shangri-La was one of my favorite stops during the trip. The Tibetan family we met was amazing! I often strive to meet locals on my trips, and it can be hard, but having them instantly meet you as part of a booked trip definitely moves things along and provides you with an unforgettable experience, especially with the local cuisine. Don’t even get me started on the spectacular mountainside views, I couldn’t stop taking pictures. I highly recommend booking this day trip! I had a fantastic experience with them.

12/06/2015
Alexis W Avatar
Alexis W
5 star rating

Truly Amazing tour in Yunnan! I truly enjoyed myself on this tour! When getting ready to prepare for it, they made sure to vividly inform me of what to expect as well as clear suggestions in an itemized list of what I should pack for the tour. I learned a lot from the guide, and I like the fact it didn't feel rushed like other tours I've experienced. The guide was courteous and truly cared about my overall experience. The vehicle was in great condition, as well. I highly recommend it!

2/03/2016
Ashley T Avatar
Ashley T
5 star rating

Family Friendly Tour in Yunnan Yunnan was absolutely gorgeous! We are so glad to have been a part of it. I joined this tour together with my husband and my two children (age four and six) and what we especially liked were the kids friendly activities on that tour. We took a private fun to do Chinese dumpling cooking class and stayed one night in a real Tibetan farm home. The next morning our children were milking cows with the Tibetan grandparents and brought the goats into the mountains. The time spend in the car was not really short (its a vast country), but doable for children if you bring some toys to play with.

A great vacation to get away from the hustle and bustle of Chinese cities. In Yunnan you can really experience the beautiful countryside and traditional life.

Our guide Sonam was very knowledgeable and easy to get along with. Booking was easy and Tibetmoto gave us many different tour options, ideas and customized our trip in the end.

12/18/2015
jambo_world_traveler Avatar
jambo_world_traveler
5 star rating

Overland tour Mongolia – China - SEA Hi everyone, we booked the China part of our world trip with Tibetmoto.

At Erenhot border we were greeted by out guide who helped us with the border formalities and accompanied us to the border of Tibet at Goldmud.

From there we crossed the endless plateau landscape. At some point we spotted wild horses and stayed with nomads for a couple of nights.

In Lhasa, we took a break for a few days after endless driving and continued to Yunnan province where our trip ended at the border to Lao.

The trip was very well planned by Tibetmoto and we apprecited the many recommendations for overnight stops, routing and sights (both before and during the tour). The service was professional yet personal and you can feel that the team members are passionate travellers themselves.

Last but not least: the tour price was very competative. And unlike other travel agencies we contacted we received always proper and detailed answers in comprehensive English language. That made planning much easier.

Thanks guys!

3/11/2017
daliwaffles Avatar
daliwaffles
5 star rating

great trip, safe & professional guide I booked a tour with Tibetmoto and was pleasantly surprised! I had an amazing time riding around Yunnan, aided by a very professional guide who took pains to make sure the whole experience went as smooth and safely as possible. The views were incredible and we also got to experience Chinese lifestyle in the many little villages we visited on the way.

All in all an amazing trip I will never forget!

7/21/2016
plvo Avatar
plvo
5 star rating

Overlanding with own vehicle in China through Tibet Moto In June and July I went through China with my Dutch registred vehicle, entering Xinjiang, going through Tibet an exiting from Yunnan to Laos, arranged by Tibet Moto. Everything was arranged very well. At the preparation stage the contact through email was crisp and clear. Hendrik took time to answer al my questions, he made me a travel schedule and adapted were necesery. Than we also had a skype meeting to talk through everything.

Just before I intended to enter China, Tibet was suddenly closed by the government for foreigners. Hendrik walked the extra mile to arrange an alternative, with last minute changes in entry dates and vehicle permits, so I could wait in Kashgar for Tibet to be open again.

The transit itself went smooth without any hickups. Ofcourse there are a lot of different aspects involved, going through a technical vehicle check, getting a chinese driver license and insurance for the vehicle. But they all turned out good. On the road there are a lot of police checks, there the documents prooved to be al legit, besides the time it takes there were no problems at all. The different guides asigned to me were professional and friendly, also helping from ordering food in restaurants to minor vehicle maintenance issues.

In Yunnan I met personally with Hendrik and his wife. He took me out for dinner and beers, also on a personal level Hendrik is a trustworthy guy in my perception. Even after I departed China he showed interest in my wellbeing and he helped me with advise of travel agencies for overlanding. The departure out of China went very quick, before noon I already departed China.

Overall I can really recommend Tibet Moto for other overlanders wishing to cross China. Crossing China with your own vehicle isnt cheap, but Tibet Moto was way cheaper than other travel agencies I contacted, with an excellent service. So well done Hendrik!

9/25/2016
PeterDonbrowski Avatar
PeterDonbrowski
5 star rating

One day Calligraphy Yoga class with Mathias Wolters by Tibetmoto in Dali I am very happy and touched that I had the opportnunity to join this one day class. Mathias Wolters teaches very autentic and personal and can guy everybody very good through the new movements. He has the abilitiy to show you the keypoints so that each movements gets understandable. Mathias Wolters offers you all his knowledge and likes to show you the deeper essence of Calligraphy Yoga. These movements are very beautiful and are actually a combination of Yoga and Qigong. I really felt a change in my body and my mind, my whole beiing was in a state of relaxation.

The location in this 500 year old temple in the Changshan mountains above the old town of Dali is impressing and fits wonderful to do there movements. Great was also that we had in between snacks, fruits and tea, coffee and other drinks.

12/24/2014
Alice J Avatar
Alice J
5 star rating

Spectacular motorbike adventure in China I joined a 9 days motorbike tour with 3 of my friends in China this August. The landscapes were really beyond our expectations. Gorges, cliffs, valleys and snow mountains made the Alps look like a smaller brother of the mountains in Yunnan.

We mainly took backroads with little to no traffic which were well paved. Although the hotels and guesthouses were often simple in remote areas they were clean and somehow charming (especially the one in the Tiger Leaping gorge with the terrace high above the cliffs). Local food and dishes were everywhere absolutely delicious.

Our Tibetan motorbike tour guide was quite a character, really funny and made this adventure even better. We will come back to see more of this awesome country!

8/14/2016
jolleyhich Avatar
jolleyhich
5 star rating

Excellent guides and knowledge This tour was excellent right from the word go. The knowledge the guides had on all the areas we visited was very well informed and they didn’t hesitate to stop and explain any part if you had a question. The sights are incredible and I have already recommended the Lhasa to base camp tour to people. Thanks Hendrik, tashi, jimmy and all the rest of the crew that made this awesome time possible.

10/06/2018
Latifi A Avatar
Latifi A
5 star rating

Experience Tibet with your family We had a family friendly tour in China´s Yunnan Province. Highlights were the Tibetan family home-stay at Jiabe (can you believe there are baby goats for the kids to play with- they enjoyed it a lot).

Since you go in Yunnan Province you have the feeling to experience Tibet and the Tibetans and eat their local and organic food (and homemade wine) and great easy hiking trails into deep ancient forest nearby. There are other places nearby you can visit as the old town of Dali and the old town of Lijiang.

Our guide was very professional. He also was willing to take care about our children and that the kids liked him.

I recommended this tour to all my friends and family. This is once in a lifetime experience not to miss.

8/15/2016
iXas Avatar
iXas
5 star rating

Amazing motorcycle tours in Yunnan, Tibet, Sichuan and Qinghai Tibetmoto - awesome tour operator for exploring Yunnan, Sichuan, Qinghai and Tibet by motorcycle, car or with your overland vehicle.

I have book two tours with Hendrik and his team. Both tours were customised motorcycle tours to my desire photography, riding awesome roads, experiencing the local lives, staying in home stays, sleeping out in tents, seeing the luscious high grassland, visiting the memorable printing house of Dege, the unique Larung Gar monastary of Serthar or the holly mountains, tasting local food and enjoying riding the stunning countryside, deep gorges or breath taking views.

Hendrik is the owner of Tibetmoto. He enjoys riding out with customers. Hendrik knows his cruising area inside out. You want to ride on dirt roads or climb the highest pass - he will bring you there, snow, mud, perfect new roads, nice and easy pistes - he knows the place to take you. All tailored to your skills and level of adventure.

He runs a professional business with a constant support from his back office, so that he can change hotels and to accommodate the route. Further, there was always a pickup with us carrying our luggage or ready to supply a warm coffee or a drink. We could ride light and just enjoy China from its best side. Hendrik runs a modern fleet of bikes, which are all well maintained and perfect for these road conditions.

After riding in October 2015 with him, I returned in June 2016 and will now return again in 2017 to ride Kashgar, the dessert and discover new territories.

Tibetmoto - a awesome experience

7/04/2016
Svenja W Avatar
Svenja W
5 star rating

Excellent Motorbike Tour!!! My boyfriend and I did a one day bike tour around the area of yunnan.

The Trip was truly spectacular. Fascinating landscapes and stunning views everywhere we rode.

The tour guide was Hendrik and he was fabulous, helpful, extremely knowledgeable and has good riding skills.

The bikes from tibetmoto have also a high quality and we felt save the whole time. Hendrik was really good with helping us to book the day and very responsive on email. We just wishes we would been able to do a longer trip with them.

2/24/2017
hermannz675 Avatar
hermannz675
5 star rating

Going Remote: Riding the Eastern Himalayas of China I have been dreaming to ride in the Eastern Himalayas for a long time, but due to political circumstances and the lack of a reliable tour operator I had to wait until this year September.

But let me begin at the very beginning: I met the Tibetmoto team the first time around 5 years ago in a small guesthouse in Shangri-la, where they were on tour with a group of guests. We talked, exchanged ideas, discussed routes and travel stories and until earlier this year I forgot all about it. Then, by chance, I rediscovered their website and found the "At the Roof of the World Tour". What a surprise!

It didn't take long to find a couple of other adventure hungry guys/gals and we booked this tour for the last 2 weeks in September, right after the rainy season.

We got not disappointed, that is for sure!

Before arriving in Lijiang, where the tour started, we took a break in Kunming, enjoyed the city, and then flew into Lijiang where our adventure began.

Well, Lijiang changed a lot in recent years, becoming far more touristy than it was supposed to ever become, but its still nice to take a stroll through the old town at night, hitting some bars and enjoy the nightlife.

In Lijiang we met all other riders plus the Tibetmoto staff and excitement started to grow, seeing all the preparation going on. We got our Chinese Shineray X5 travel Enduro bikes and as a supply vehicle served us a Pick-up with a exchange bike (we didn't need it), canisters of fuel, spare parts, snacks and much more.

Already the first day passing by Shangri-la was amazing, since we crossed the first mountain pass of 3,500 meters after only 2 hours of riding. By the end of the first riding day we were already in a remote gorge near a mighty river in a small Tibetan town and we should not see another tourist for the next 10 days to come.

We rode every day in between 200 and 320 kilometers (thats not little taking the small and curvy mountain roads into account and we never arrived somewhere before 4pm) over Himalayan mountain passes, across grassland, met wild looking Khampa mountain nomads and slept in solid mid range hotels along the way. Road conditions and accommodations were beyond my expectations, roads being newly paved and hotels very clean, warm with comfy beds and Western toilets. We had a lot of different yak meat dishes, hand made wheat noodles and for lunch often only a snack from the supply vehicle (if no town or lunch place en route).

One of the biggest highlights for me was Qinghai lake, the largest salt lake of the Himalayas. We arrived there in the afternoon, coming down from a mountain pass when suddenly this "ocean" appeared right in front of us. Riding downhill hundreds of slopes the lake became larger and larger, finally arriving at the shore. That night, we stayed in yurts at the lake shore where you can take bath on 3,800 meters and watching herds of yaks passing by. What an experience!



If you book this tour be prepared, although there is some additional gear in the pick-up truck. The weather can change quickly and you need good/warm gear.

This route is a rare adventure, connecting the few "touristy" sights mentioned in guide books and leading through unheard of and virgin, beautiful landscapes.

Last but not least: The tour was professionally organized, bikes well maintained and our guide was a great and easy going fellow who knew not only many stories and historical facts, but as well the importance of a cold beer after a long day on the bike.

If you love adventure, if you love mountains and the Himalayas, if you are interested in riding Eastern Tibet (a place which not many people know), you will love this.

11/29/2016
Tracy H Avatar
Tracy H
5 star rating

Awesome Experience! We took a one day trip organized by Tibetmoto while visiting Beijing CIty and it was the best part of our trip. The guide was an expert on the culture as well as the area. That was the best day of our one week long visit. I highly suggest if you are visiting Beijing to take a day and book a one day trip you will be amazed at how much more you will see and learn.

1/29/2016
mpolini Avatar
mpolini
5 star rating

Motorbike trip through Tibet The most epic and enjoyable holidays ever experienced Everest was awesome,The whole crew was more than helpful very well planned and executed tour.Very highly recommend.

10/07/2018
Jeff G Avatar
Jeff G
5 star rating

Everest or bust 2018 We just completed a tour to Everest base camp from Lhasa with Hendrik and his crew. From start to finish was a trip of a lifetime. Everything was organised extremely well from the different types of foods to the monastery tours and of course the riding through breathtaking scenery and long winding roads each day. The backup crew and mechanics were brilliant and a special shout out to Jimmy the tour guide who’s knowledge of everything and helpfulness made the trip. “JIMMY, we love you man”We also met so lovely people touring with us that will be friends for life.

10/06/2018
Jasmin S Avatar
Jasmin S
5 star rating

Thx for this unforgettable motorbike roadtrip We had a really awesome motorbike tour with tibetmoto! Me and my friends booked a motorbike tour through Yunnan, China’s most amazing province. It took us deep into the valleys of Mekong and Yangtze river as well as into the jungle of Xishuangbanna! We enjoyed a Homestay with a Tibetan family high up in the mountains of Kham. Yunnan is amazing for motorbiking with all the curvy mountain roads. Overwhelming trip with great guide and organization!

3/27/2016
Gehrden Avatar
Gehrden
5 star rating

Trans Tibet Motorbike Tour - Tibet with Everest Base Camp - Perfect Way to experience Tibet! I have had the pleasure to ride with the Tibetmoto team in Sep 2018 during their Trans Tibet Tour and I would recommend fully hearted to join any of their upcoming trips.

A choice of Bikes in very good condition, beautiful roads, impressive landscapes, a knowledgable and helpful local guide, authentic accomodations and lunch/dining options and a very likeable, skillfull and supportive Tibetmoto Team (Hendrik, Tashi and the support crew). I trusted them right from the start and they accomodated any questions, concerns or proposals. If you look for a reliable tour operator with relevant local knowledge and the understanding for international guests - don’t look any further.

I’ll definitely book another tour with them - just this says everything.

9/24/2018
Candice M Avatar
Candice M
5 star rating

China Overland Mongolia - Laos – A Phantastic Journey We found Tibetmoto company on several blogs where it got positive recommendations and reviews. Thanks to Laura´s blog we chose them to arrange the China part of our world tour.

We entered in August from Mongolia into China and spend a few days around Beijing before driving to Tibet.

At the Erenhot border our assigned guide was waiting for us and helped us with the border formalities; he was dealing with the border procedures, customs, traffic administration and so forth, so for us it was mainly waiting and killing time.

After crossing the Gobi desert our journey continued to the Tibet-Qinghai plateau and the vastness of Tibet. Tubden, our Tibet guide, was a great help when in the middle of nowhere and 500 kilometers away from Lhasa our clutch disc broke. The backoffice localized the spare part in Lhasa and Tubden arrange a overnight delivery by taxi to the small village where we got stuck and convinced a local car mechnic to fix our Land Cruiser. Great job!

Overall a great experience - we would surely chose this company again.

11/01/2017
Dawn H Avatar
Dawn H
5 star rating

Professionally organized Overland tour by Tibetmoto Hello everyone, we booked with Tibetmoto because of the recommendation of friends and didn't regret it. The trip of a lifetime-with our VW bus from Holland through China and Tibet and further to Thailand-was well organized. Tibetmoto got all the necessary China permits and transit documents for us and the bus. Furthermore, the arranged guides who picked us up from the border at Irkeshtam and accompanied us to the Laos border were super friendly, helpful, and spoke excellent English. We shared a lot of laughs together. From communication before booking (we had many questions and they were all answered in detail) to picking a route and management of the permits and documents, everything was great. The only drawback about the route was that the road between Lhasa and Deqin was under construction and quite challenging.

8/10/2016
d_swainbank Avatar
d_swainbank
5 star rating

One of the best tours we've had Our tour of Beijing City was definitely the highlight of our trip. Our tour guide was most helpful and the service that he provided was excellent. He told us all about the culture of the city which was much different than what we were used to. We have been on other tours that did not provide even half of the benefits of this tour. My wife and I really enjoyed all the photo ops that we had rather than taking the bus tour. We found out about this tour from a friend who had used this service last year. Tibetmoto is our choice for more trips in the future. Thanks ever so very much for the excellent customer service that you provided. We will make sure to let all of our family and friends know about your wonderful tours. Make your trip memorable with the team from Tibetmoto

1/27/2016

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?